Monday, February 16, 2009

When I taught her

videoThis was the day I actually taught Brielle to feed herself. She did it the right way! Now, she no longer does it this way... she insists on holding the spoon from the tip top and dips. It's very messy her way.

30 things about me:

I am cheating...pulled this off of facebook for my blog...changed a few things though.

1. I took violin lessons in 4th and 5th grades.
2. I have lived in 4 states: AR, KS, MO, AR (again), and TN
3. All three of my children were born in different counties.
4. I love grilled cheese, potato chips, and strawberries!
5. Dolphins are my favorite animal.
6. My hobbies change frequently, but when I am “into” something I focus on it wholeheartedly.
7. I hate cleaning bathrooms.
8. The only video game I ever play is Dance Factory.
9. I can’t stand rejection.
10. For my 21st Birthday I got a dolphin tattoo.
11. I used to gasp that women would breastfeed their babies past the 12-month mark. Yet, at 14 months, we are still going strong.
12. It wasn’t until 6 years ago (when I was 26) that I began searching for The Way of Life in the Light.
13. That same year I got my eyebrow pierced, kept it in for almost a year and regret having took it out ever since, despite the ongoing infections. (that has nothing to do with #12 though)
14. I read 2-5 books simultaneously.
15. I never have the time to read anymore, so I rarely get through a book.
16. Softball is my favorite sport. I haven’t played in 14 years, but I did coach baseball three years in a row.
17. I ran a daycare out of my finished basement for five years, then taught preschool for another five.
18. The first and third times I got pregnant occurred while I was trying to work towards a bachelors degree in English, 1st at ASU-MH, then at APSU. I still hope to get a degree…in something…someday.
19. I got my first job at age 15, manually checking out groceries at Ozark Foods. I was paid 3.65 per hour. I never received a pay stub and despite the fact that I worked the same hours every week, my paycheck amount would often fluctuate. I never questioned this.
20. I love to bake. I bake cakes, cookies, and breads. In fact, most of my free time at home lately is spent in my kitchen trying new recipes.
21. A few years ago we discovered that our favorite family activity is CAMPING.
22. I avoid confrontational situations like the plague.
23. I really do clean dirty cloth diapers in the toilet and I wash my hands A LOT!
24. I love libraries and go to ours almost weekly.
25. House plants will generally not survive in my care.
26. I am rarely, if ever, bored.
27. Sometimes the highlight of my day is showering.
28. I am awakened 3-6 times (on average) every night.
29. Skee ball is my favorite carnival game.
30. My oldest child turns 13 next week!